Today, the University comprises 48 departments organized into 5 faculties – Medical Faculty, Faculty of Dentistry, Faculty of Pharmacy, Faculty of Foreign Students, and Postgraduate Training Faculty. Basing on theoretical departments are 4 research institutes, namely of Morphology; Medical and Biologic Problems; Pharmacology; Hygiene and Medical Biochemistry named after M.P.Skakun; Modelling and Analysis of Pathologic Processes; Clinical departments. Theoretical and clinical departments provide the basis for the Institute of Nursing.
The University material and technical basis has increased greatly for the last 15 years. All the departments as well as the library with 4 reading halls and branches at clinical departments, in educational and research institutes have been computerized. There has been organized the computer centre and 39 computer Internet-connected classes. The Publishing House “Ukrmedknyha”, equipped with its own printing facilities, is the largest specialized publishing house in Ukraine and the only one that publishes printed matters in Ukrainian or translated from Ukrainian. More than 50 per cent of the University teachers have been certified for teaching in English.
On September 22, 2008 the European Business Assembly Nomination Committee (Oxford, Great Britain) and the Scientific Council of the Vienna International University (Austria) awarded the “European Quality” international reward to the I.Ya.Horbachevsky Ternopil State Medical University. The reward was handed over at the International meeting of the leaders of science and culture “Euro-2008” in Barcelona (Spain).
In January 2012 the Ternopil Medical University initiated the establishment of «International scientific-educational innovative-technological consortium of higher medical institutions and institutions of physical education and sports». By today, 18 leading European and American Universities have joined the Consortium.